Event Menu

Washington, D.C. Overnight Walk - Open Teams

One of the most unique and powerful aspects of the Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk is the sense of community present when participants from all across the country unite with the common goal of breaking the silence surrounding suicide and mental health. Joining a team can enhance your Overnight experience by introducing you to new people so that you can begin forming bonds before the Walk even starts. We have several teams every year that are open to welcoming solo walkers. Fundraising is individual and each team member must reach her or his minimum fundraising requirement.


Mid-Atlantic Teams      
Northeast Teams      
Rest of Nation Teams      



Open Teams by Reason for Walking:

Team Name: Parentless Stigma Fighters
Team Captain: Morgan Chavez
For those who have lost a parent

Team Name: Remembering Siblings/Siblings-in-Law
Team Captain: Ett McAtee
For those who have lost a sibling or sibling-in-law

Team Name: RUCK UP
Team Captain: Anthony [AJ] Paige
For those with an association to the military

Team Name: Team4Teens
Team Captain: Alexis Watkinson
To promote positive thinking and stop teen suicides

Team Name: Team POS-FFOS
Team Captain: Marcia Resnick
Parents of Suicides (POS) - Friends and Families of Suicides (FFOS)

Team Name: Team S.O.L.E.S. (Washington)
Team Captain: Deborah Rose
Surviving Our Losses Experienced through Suicide

Team Name: Your Life Matters
Team Captain: Sara Tagget
For those who have personally struggled with depression or other mental illnesses and for those who have lost a loved one

AFSP Chapter Teams:

Team Name: AFSP Arkansas
Team Captain: Christopher Epperson

Team Name: AFSP Capital Region NY Chapter
Team Captain: Jen Hoffman

Team Name: AFSP Central Ohio Chapter
Team Captain: Sparky Pinyan

Team Name: AFSP Central Valley Chapter
Team Captain: Shantell Brightman

Team Name: AFSP Georgia Chapter
Team Captain: Harrison Walker

Team Name: AFSP Greater SF Bay Area Chapter
Team Captain: Vanessa Perry

Team Name: AFSP Idaho
Team Captain: Carmen Stanger

Team Name: AFSP Indiana Chapter
Team Captain: Stephanie Bodie

Team Name: AFSP Iowa
Team Captain: Shelley Metz

Team Name: AFSP Kentucky
Team Captain: Gage Donohue

Team Name: AFSP Maryland Chapter
Team Captain: Susan Maskaleris

Team Name: AFSP Michigan Chapter
Team Captain: Vicky Powelson

Team Name: AFSP National Capital Area
Team Captain: Elizabeth Briones
Includes the City of Alexandria and Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William counties in Virginia.

Team Name: AFSP Nebraska Chapter
Team Captain: Jennifer Moffett

Team Name: AFSP New Jersey
Team Captain: Melissa Kiritsis

Team Name: AFSP North Carolina
Team Captain: Vanessa Bassett

Team Name: AFSP North Florida
Team Captain: Ellen Menendez

Team Captain: Dionne Monsanto

Team Name: AFSP Pennsylvania
Team Captain: Brandon Marsico

Team Name: AFSP South Carolina
Team Captain: Vanessa Riley

Team Name: AFSP Southern CT
Team Captain: Sue Monroe

Team Name: AFSP Tampa Bay
Team Captain: Brandy Pauline

Team Name: AFSP Utah Chapter Hope Saves Lives
Team Captain: Stephanie Cook

Team Name: AFSP Virginia Chapter
Team Captain: Crystal Graham
Excludes the City of Alexandria and Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William counties in Virginia.

Team Name: AFSP West Virginia
Team Captain: Michelle Toman

Team Name: AFSP Western New York Chapter
Team Captain: Karen Heisig

If you are a team captain and would like your team listed, please contact [email protected]

If you would like to make a donation to an individual on a closed team, you can find a list of all Washington, D.C. Teams here.